first_imgA truck speeding along I-435 in Lenexa. Photo credit Tristan Bowersox. Used under a Creative Commons license.Two right lanes of southbound I-435 to close July 15 through Aug. 9. Update: This news item has been updated to reflect KDOT’s revised construction plans and lane closures for I-435. The Kansas Department of Transportation will close two lanes of southbound I-435 from Midland Drive to 87th Street Parkway starting Monday, July 15, through Aug. 9.The right lane will be closed 24 hours a day for patching work. The center lane will be closed from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily. Motorists should expect significant delays. Lane closures planned for the two left lanes of northbound I-435 between 87th Street Parkway and Midland Drive are now tentatively scheduled to begin Aug. 12. Those lanes will remain closed 24/7 throughout the project to allow KDOT crews to complete concrete patching on the center lane. For questions, contact KDOT’s Olathe office at 913-764-0987.67th Street to close between Merriam west city limits and Antioch Road. The city of Merriam has a long-term road improvements project on 67th Street from the west city limits to Antioch Road starting July 15. This project includes repaving the entire road, new curbs and sidewalks, new streetlights, and ADA compliant ramps. There will be partial road closures throughout the entire project, which is expected to be completed Dec. 24, weather permitting. There will be no complete road closures. The construction company will begin roadwork west of the BNSF train tracks in the westbound lane.Sprint closes deal to sell Overland Park campus to Occidental Management. Sprint has closed a deal to sell its 17-building campus to Wichita-based Occidental Management. “The deal comes on the heels of speculation that the U.S. Department of Justice is close to a decision on the Overland Park-based wireless carrier’s $26.5 billion merger with T-Mobile US Inc.,” the Kansas City Business Journal reported. Financial terms of the deal were not disclosed. As part of the deal, Sprint will continue to lease and occupy a portion of the campus. Sprint also plans to consolidate its operations from 11 buildings to four. Occidental has not yet announced plans for the rest of the space. T-Mobile, based in Bellevue, Washington, previously announced that Sprint’s Overland Park offices would become a “second headquarters” for the combined company if the merger is approved. [Sprint closes deal to sell Overland Park campus — Kansas City Business Journal]last_img read more

first_imgTyler Stoddard became a first-time IMCA Modified Empire State Series winner on July 15 at Thunder Mountain Speedway. The win was also his first in the division since 2015 and came after “a ton” of second-place showings. (Photo by Mojo Photos)CENTER LISLE, N.Y. (July 15) – Tyler Stoddard has seen a lot of countryside traveling to a lot of different tracks over the seven years he’s followed the Empire State Series for IMCA Modifieds.On Saturday, he got his first view of the tour from victory lane.Stoddard won his first career series feature, and first IMCA Modified event since 2015, at Thunder Mountain Speedway. The 2016 tour runner-up noted that he’d made one small adjustment, suggested by car builder Bob Bills by text earlier in the day.“It seems like I’ve always been the bridesmaid. I’ve got a ton of second-place finishes,” he said. “This win was just unbelievable especially because going into this race we had been having setup issues with the car.”Stoddard started outside pole and fell back to third briefly before getting the second spot, behind Gary Lamphere.Three early cautions came out but Stoddard had the lead before midway in the 20-lapper.Lapped traffic was not a factor as Bumps Scott, Rich Michael Jr., Will Ward and Keith Jack Lamphere chased Stoddard to the $750 checkers.“Once I got out front I just put it on cruise control and concentrated on hitting my marks,” Stoddard said.Feature results – 1. Tyler Stoddard; 2. Bumps Scutt; 3. Rich Michael Jr.; 4. Will Ward; 5. Keith Jack Lamphere; 6. Gary Roberts; 7. Rodney Morgan; 8. Ray McClure; 9. Mike Stoddard; 10. Gary Lamphere; 11. Billy Ward; 12. Keith Lamphere Sr.; 13. Dan Searles; 14. Eric Boynton; 15. Brad Smith.last_img read more